panpopla.blogg.se

Dek-block® the floating foundation deck system
Dek-block® the floating foundation deck system












dek-block® the floating foundation deck system

Remember to check with your local building codes when building a deck. Because the deck floats on the ground will rise during winter nor more than about 1/2 inch at the most. Remember that with a floating deck you do not attached it to your house. Well the winter has come and gone and my deck still is as even as the day it was build. When I started out everyone said to build the deck with frost footing because the deck will be uneven. No problem with ground heaves because the deck moves evenly. The good thing about floating decks is that you do not have to attach them to the house. If you are planning to build a deck under 60 inches then you might want to go over and look at some photos of my deck. The deck I built is a deck for a pool, which worked out well for me. I posted some photos at that show the process in building this deck. I found that using blocks call Dek-blocks I got from a home improvement store did the job.

dek-block® the floating foundation deck system

I started to build a deck with footing but the deck was too large and too many holes to dig. Don't take my word just check out what others have to say about using this method of building a floating deck.įYI, if anyone is interested in building a floating deck and save time digging holes for footings then building a floating deck might work for you. The deck is a solid as the day I built it. Well I have had my deck up now and have run into no problems. Now some people say that if you live in an area where the ground freezes then you will have problems with this method. Check out the photo gallery of people whom built floating decks not attached to the house. You a can also check out the site that got me started on this. If you are thinking of doing this I have examples of my deck at The method I explain below worked for me well as well as others. I have done that on one deck i helped build about 10 years ago. Thats where you level the posts and jam softball size rocks around the post with a post iron to hold it in place and gives a place for the water to drain away. I think you are better off stoning a post into the ground before you concrete it. The other 2 posts were cemented into the ground and were about 12 years old, they were about 50% shot. I replaced deck posts recently that were in since the mid 70's, they were sitting on a concrete column with "L" brackets and a 1/2" bolt. The weight of the deck is sitting on top of a level column, its not going to go anyplace. I usually use the "L" AND a galv post anchor since it keeps the wood from touching the cement.

dek-block® the floating foundation deck system

You should not cement the posts in, you should dig down belowe your frost line and pour a column with either a bent piece of allthread to attach to a galv post anchor OR a piece of steel bent in a "L" with a bolt through it and the post. Again this seems like it would be less stable than if it were in the ground with concrete poured around it-especially if the deck were freestanding." "Another thing I've read is that the best way to mount posts is on a concrete footing with a metal post anchor. I wish i had taken some digital pics of the deck i just framed.

dek-block® the floating foundation deck system

You need to put some braces inbetween the stingers to make the deck solid. Not if you use proper bracing while framing the deck. "My thinking is that if a deck is not attached to a solid structure (house), it could be wobbly or somewhat less stable than if it were attached.














Dek-block® the floating foundation deck system